Author Topic: Question about editing data in meta-analysis mode?  (Read 7323 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dev

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: 2
  • Forum Administrator
    • ClinTools
Re: Question about editing data in meta-analysis mode?
« Reply #4 on: 02 July, 2009, 07:55:26 pm »
Hi Ya-ya,

No, the only way to do this is compute the new effect sizes using the new SDs and then manually change the SDs in the meta-analysis. We thought about enabling a recomputation using the metaanalysis, but that way didn't allow for people to manually change numbers in the meta-analysis raw data (which is very useful). So .... either change the effect size figure in the file for each study or - and probably wise - create a new file with the sds, N and effect sizes you want (probably using the ESG).

Cheers,
Dev
I am logged on, therefore I am.

Offline ya-ya

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
Re: Question about editing data in meta-analysis mode?
« Reply #3 on: 02 July, 2009, 04:05:00 am »
Um, ok I must be crazy, I thought the meta-analysis program re-calculated the individual effect sizes when I changed the means and SD's, but I was wrong, it is still using the old SDs. So, is there a way to do this?

Thanks again! 

Offline ya-ya

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
Re: Question about editing data in meta-analysis mode?
« Reply #2 on: 02 July, 2009, 02:00:19 am »
Never mind - I figured out that when I actually do the meta-analysis function it also gives me this data. Thanks!!! And you are definitely getting a citation in my dissertation, and any publications that come from it!

Best wishes,
Jen (Ya-Ya)  ;D

Devilly, G.J. (2005). ClinTools Software for Windows: Version 4.1 (computer programme). www.clintools.com, Psytek Ltd.

Offline ya-ya

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
Question about editing data in meta-analysis mode?
« Reply #1 on: 02 July, 2009, 01:27:57 am »
Hi there again Dev, I have another question   ;D

So, now that I have calculated a new SD to use for my effect size calculations, I am wondering (hoping) --is there a way to edit the raw data in the meta-analysis mode so that it will automatically update with the new effect size numbers? I couldn't figure this out, but since you're the expert, and the developer(!) I thought I woud ask...

Thanks!!! And again, if you (or anyone else) can respond ASAP, all the better!!!!

Ya-Ya  :D